• Contact Us
  • +61 (07) 3365 9097


TERN is managed and coordinated by the TERN Office, hosted by The University of Queensland. Governance of TERN takes place on several levels:

  • The TERN Advisory Board which has primary responsibility for the overall strategic direction, management and performance of TERN;
  • The TERN Science Advisory Committee, which is a sub-committee of the Advisory Board tasked with providing independent advice on longer-term national strategic goals, utility of TERN infrastructure, and oversight of TERN quality assurance from a science perspective;
  • The TERN Executive Group which enables all TERN Facility Directors to communicate with the TERN Office, TERN Board and each other to maintain progress, share knowledge, develop TERN-wide standards, and solve operational/implementation problems;
  • A Data Working Group, consisting of all TERN Facility Technical leads to coordinate development of TERN Data infrastructure to deliver open access ecosystem dataset collections; and
  • An Advisory Panel for each TERN Facility, consisting of user groups (or equivalent), working with Facility Directors in the development of operational plans, associated user protocols and relevant technical matters, including training.

TERN Advisory Board

The TERN Advisory Board has primary responsibility for the overall strategic direction, management and performance of TERN and establishment of longer-term national strategic goals. It:

  • provides strategic guidance to the TERN Office and the TERN Executive Group, and monitors the overall strategic direction;
  • receives and approves annual progress reports on TERN performance and monitors management and performance of the TERN program;
  • approves the TERN Annual Business Plans, which include implementation milestones and budget allocations;
  • provides a mechanism for resolution of issues that cannot be worked through the TERN Office;
  • advises and assists the TERN Office in the management of business risks;
  • oversees the communication plan and activities of the TERN Office;
  • oversees the strategic development of TERN and development of plans to sustain TERN into the longer term; and
  • oversees a formal evaluation of TERN.
Current membership of the TERN Advisory Board:
Professor Lyn Beazley AO Chair
Dr Louise Minty Bureau of Meteorology - Deputy Chair
Mr Greg Terrill Australian Government Department of the Environment and Energy
Dr Margaret Byrne WA Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions
Dr Dan Metcalfe Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
Professor Joe Shapter University of Queensland
Professor Andrew Krockenberger James Cook University
Professor Simon Ringer University of Sydney
Dr Douglas Robertson Australian National University
Professor Andy Lowe University of Adelaide
Dr Beryl Morris TERN
Dr Steve Morton TERN Science Advisory Committee


Members of the TERN Advisory Board (L-R): Mr Greg Terrill, Dr Ian Cresswell (former member) ,Dr Beryl Morris, Prof Joe Shapter, Prof Andrew Krockenberger, Prof Lyn Beazley (chair), Dr Louise Minty (deputy chair), Dr Douglas Robertson, Prof Andy Lowe, Dr Margaret Byrne, Prof Simon Ringer


TERN Science Advisory Committee

The TERN Science Advisory Committee provides independent advice to the Advisory Board, relating to the longer-term national strategic goals on future research infrastructure requirements; ease of use and utility of TERN infrastructure; science issues raised by the Advisory Board and/or TERN facilities; and oversight of TERN quality assurance from a science perspective.

Such advice is provided in the context of:

  • promoting the scientific interactions and planning necessary to establish and maintain an appropriately stratified and representative national terrestrial ecosystem site and observational network to meet terrestrial ecosystem and resource management research needs in the longer term;
  • implementing and maintaining coordinated national observational networks to facilitate cooperation and operational experience;
  • facilitating improved access, by electronic means, to quality assured observational data by the terrestrial ecosystem and resource management community;
  • involving the terrestrial ecosystem research community in defining future needs; and
  • strengthening the technical and operational capability of the terrestrial ecosystem community and hence sustaining the terrestrial observing paradigm into the longer term.

Members of the TERN Science Advisory Committee (L-R): Dr Helen Cleugh, Prof Jenny Davis, Dr Ross Wilkinson, Dr Ashley Sparrow, Dr Steve Morton (Chair), Dr Margaret Byrne (Deputy Chair), Prof Alex McBratney, Prof Adrienne Nicotra.

Read more about the Science Advisory Committee here.


TERN Executive Group

The TERN Executive Group (TEG) provides leadership to the TERN Office and support in the development and implementation of TERN programs.

The TEG consists of the TERN Director, TERN Data Science Director, TERN Facility Directors, and TERN Office staff.

You can read the Terms of Reference for the TEG here.


Sign up for our monthly news bulletin:

Please send me the TERN e-Newsletter
I agree to the Privacy Policy
Please send me the TERN e-Newsletter
Please send me information about TERN events (e.g. Annual National Symposium)